Please set your LearnWPT Password now. Your username is the email address you joined with. Having trouble? Email us at help@learnwpt.com

Password:

Confirm:

How to account for dead money in the pot when using 5% rule?

  • Tom W (Ann Arbor, MI)

Hello All,

How, VERY precisely, do I account for money already in the pot for '5% Calling Rule' calculation purposes?

Example...

~Ten-Handed table and blinds are $500/$1000 with $100 antes

~After the SB and BB post and all antes have been collected, all players at the table (amazingly) have $52K remaining in their stacks

~Folds to Villain 1 who opens to $2,500, folds to Villain 2 who calls, folds to Hero who (holding a speculative hand that is not deemed raisable and will be entering a multiway pot for less than 5% of the effective stack) also calls

~Folds to BB and BB makes it $5,000, Villain 1 calls, Villain 2 calls...Action on Hero...

OK...

1) What is the first % of investment that Hero is confronting calling? Is it the $2,500 call amount divided by the $52,000 starting effective stack (i.e., ~4.81%)? Is it the $2,500 call amount divided by $54,500 (the $52,000 starting effective stack + the $500 SB already in the pot + the $1,000 BB already in the pot + the $1,000 in antes already in the pot) (i.e., ~4.59%)? Or, is it something else? No matter what, the investment will be less than 5% so...

2) What is the second % of investment that Hero is confronting calling? Is it the further $2,500 call amount divided by the $49,500 current effective stack (i.e., ~5.05%)? Or, is it the further $2,500 call amount divided by $61,000 (the $49,500 current effect stack + the $500 SB already in the pot + the $1,000 in antes already in the pot + the $10,000 from the $2,500 each of the four players put in before the BB upped it) (i.e., ~4.10%)? Or, is it something else?

I understand that most of our calculations in real time at the table are fairly rough making 'close enough' reasonable and that this level of detail is not necessarily practical, however, I just want it down in case there is a situation whereby things are distinct enough to make the difference between calling and folding.

Thanks!

~Tom W.

Answers are only available to members.