9♥8♥ on the Flop, what do you do here?

98 on the Flop-optimized.gif

In a Tournament you call a preflop raise in position with 98 suited after 2 other callers. On the flop, one of the preflop callers bets, both other players call and action is on you. What do you do with your draw?

PRO ANSWER: When holding a draw and facing a bet, the first step you should take is to calculate your pot odds. In this case, there is 3650 already in the pot and it costs us 800 to call. If we choose to call, there will be 4450 total in the pot going to the turn. Without taking into account any future betting, if we hit our draw 800/4450 or about 18% of the time, this call should show a profit.

We have a flush draw and gutshot straight draw, so we have 12 outs. Using the Rule of 2, we have about a 24% chance of hitting on the turn (12 x 2 = 24). Even if we discount the three of hearts as an out (since it pairs the board), we still have a 22% chance of hitting on the turn. Since our chance of hitting our draw is greater than our breakeven equity needed given the pot odds, calling with our draw is profitable. This eliminates folding as an option. What about raising?

Continued below...

EP37 Outs - 300x250.png

One of the primary benefits of raising would be to induce folds from your opponents. This is known as fold equity. Since this is a multiway pot (4 players on the flop), the chance of getting all of your opponents to fold is lower than if there were fewer opponents. Raising would often simply put more money into the pot when we are behind.

Since getting all of our opponents to fold to a raise is far less likely, we should take the profitable pot odds we are getting and call the flop bet with our draw.

Calling is the best play.

What would you do here?
Share your answer in the comments below!

Posted on Tags